Football Management & Technology

Diamonds Lose Co-Chairmen – The Southern League


Date: Tue 18 Oct 2022

By Steve Whitney

Pitching In Southern League Premier Division Central club AFC Rushden & Diamonds have announced that its joint chairmen have resigned.

Following Saturday’s home defeat to Redditch United, which leaves Diamonds in second-from-bottom spot, Chris McCormack resigned from the Board of Directors.

In a statement on the club’s website, it reveals that, at the time that McCormack and Matt Ward were announced as co-chairs, it was agreed that should one of them resign from the position, the other would follow and so, Ward has, in turn, also resigned his position but remains on the Board as treasurer for the time being.

In the last week, the Board has received resignations from Scott Stapley and Richard Maxwell, who came off the Board after being named as the first team manager, at least until the end of the season.

The net effect, therefore, is that there are currently five Board members – David Bland, David Kalicki, Roger Paterson, Matt Ward and Stacey Hawkins. This means that the Board is currently not working within the terms of the constitution, which states that the Board should consist of no less than six members and no more than 12 (Rule 59).

Following the announcement of the new manager and comments received from members and supporters at the match on Saturday as well as those on both the members’ and unofficial forums, the Board will, in accordance with Rule 32 of the club’s constitution, convene an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Society to be held on Wednesday, 2nd November.

The business of the meeting will be to inform members of the current situation at the club and to formulate a way forward for the football club. It is anticipated that the meeting will be chaired by an independent person chosen by the Board, in accordance with Rule 42 of the constitution.

(AFC Rushden & Diamonds)

AFC Rushden & Diamonds Web Site


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button